September 17th-19th Goodwood Revival . .

The Fordwater Trophy grid reverted to 'slippery coupe' format, and was on paper a more competitive gathering of the smaller capacity cars than had previously been the case in 2003 and 2006. Test day times the previous week had given a guide to the possible front runners -

Practice on Friday saw engine-builder Nick Swift set a 1.34.5 pole in the Mini Dart, with Rae Davis (Mini Gem 1.38.2) and Gordon Elwell (Sprite 1.39.3) making up the front row - the WSM flag flyers were Ivor Miller (11th), Brian Arculus (14th) and Clive Cocks (21st), while the WSM MGB chose to misbehave shortly before assembly for practice, then fail completely first lap out and was banished to the back of the grid. Several yellow and red flags compromised the session severely, but the wheels literally came off when the Deep Sanderson of Richard Meins spun out of the chicane and the rear axle hubs failed. Neil Hardy's Speedwell necessitated an engine change.

Race - Elwell produce a stonking start in MEG to lead from Swift and Davis, but the WSM of Miller retired after failing to get off the line and was nudged in the rear by an unsighted Nick Wigley in the Ogle. The WSM MGB compounded the misery with a failed rotor arm on the out lap, alongside the unfortunate James Willis with a broken diff on his MG Midget Jacobs Coupe. For two laps Elwell kept Swift, Davis and Shaun Rainford in the Lenham GT at bay, but as Swift elbowed past through St Marys, Elwell was compromised and swallowed up by Davis and Rainford. Two laps later and Elwell schemed his way back past Rainford, but Swift and Davis had pulled out a significant margin. Paul Woolmer was making progress from 7th in his Sebring Sprite, and the Deep Sanderson of Simon Diffey (left) was hassling Chris Clegg's Sebring for 10th. David Wylie's 13th qualifying spot belied the true pace of the Speedwell and Mike Haigh's Lenham GT hung on in 5th as Wylie came good in 6th. Davis retired on lap ten, and although MEG's challenge faded as Rainford put in fastest lap while closing on Swift, Elwell had excelled in keeping it close. Arculus and Cocks brought home the WSM bacon in 9th and 17th, while Bob Ridgard (MGB Coune Berlinette) and James Wiseman (Alfa Giulietta SZ) squabbled entertainingly over 15th. Woolmer's 4th place made up for two previous Goodwood disappointments, but Swift was never truly troubled after the loss of Davis and despite Rainford's 11th lap charge, had a comfortable 3 second margin at the flag.

Click on for results

Click on for YouTube clip

Click on for OnFirePhotography by Andy Putman

Click on for Ultimate Car Page extensive pix

Click on for pix


Pit & Paddock

In 2006, Alex Rooke was pictured in WSM 301 by his grandfather and ex-WSM 201 owner Clive Rooke at the Revival. Alex is pictured again, this time beside WSM 210.


Good to see Manx connections over the week-end, including David Mylchreest and Peter Waters stopping by in the paddock, and Christophe Wilmart, Mike and Sarah Harris (left) and John Pearson and Nick Crewdson from the Equipe GTS race series. Ex-Spridget racers David and Lorraine Gathercole were the usual party animals at the Ball, especially with David having completed his race that afternoon, and Healey historian Bill Emerson popped over the pond for the week-end. Former WSM owners Clive and Anna Rooke called in, as did Healey officianado Peter Dulieu, and Steve Whistlecroft, son of Dennis who co-owned the WSM MGB with Barry Sidery-Smith in the 1970's . .

. . Future WSM owner Lorraine Noble-Thompson in good (nurses uni) form with two Doug's ahoy

. . Mick Darcey's 100S ready for the Freddie March Memorial Trophy

. . 'Equipe' racer and Ken Dodd's French cousin Marc Lafon and wife Veronique with Mike and Sarah Harris

Paddock Peeks . .

The Ball . .

Pictures courtesy of Sarah Harris, Lorraine Noble-Thompson and Paul Webb

Thanks to Ian Hulett and Murray Henderson (left) for their voluntary help, Roy Gillingham (right) and his team for jumping in at short notice, Brian Arculus for stashing the WSM MGB for a few weeks and thanks to Peter Hesz for the WSM teamwear.